FMS Announces Winter Athletics Awards

Fishburne Military School Honors Winter Athletes

Waynesboro, VA — Three times each school year the Fishburne Military School Caissons come together in Lawton Chapel to celebrate the successes of their athletic teams and to recognizeFishburne Military School (Waynesboro, VA) Winter Athletics Awards individual efforts and achievements. The awards presentations are then followed by a special dinner prepared for the athletes.

Fishburne Military School Athletics Director, MAJ Bryan Greene (VA), recapped the Winter Athletics seasons noting:  “The purpose of this banquet is to recognize those who stuck with their teams and refused to quit. The refusal to quit is a characteristic we should all respect. The Swim team improved all year, the Rifle team finished as the state runner-up, and Wrestling sent NINE representatives to the State tournament and THREE Caissons went to the National tournament.”

Following Coach Greene’s remarks, each coach recognized their team’s standouts, and congratulated each of their athletes for a season of effort and determination.

The final and most prestigious of Fishburne Military School’s athletics awards was presented. The Colonel James G. Hogg Award is presented three times per year to the cadet-athlete who best embodies the ideals of athletic and academic excellence. A plaque in the Fishburne foyer permanently displays the names of recipients. Cadet Matthew Farrar ’18 (Waynesboro, VA) was presented with the Hogg Award.

Photo gallery available HERE

The full list of FMS Winter 2017 Athletics Awards follows:

Varsity Basketball:
Most Valuable Player- Yuan Pu (Hunan, China)
Coaches’ Award- Shunyuan Hu (Jilin, China)
Iron Caisson Award- Thaddeus Mitchell (Abingdon, VA)
Caisson Hustle Award- Dylan Gladhill (New Market, MD)
Most Improved Player- Nick Broughman (Waynesboro, VA)
Most Improved Player- Phillip Griffin (Charlottesville, VA)
Medal- All-VIC 2nd team Yuan Pu

JV Basketball:
Most Valuable Player- Kyriq Dorsey (Capital Heights, MD)
Leadership Award- Darian Belisle (Staunton, VA)
Iron Caisson- Haoliang Han (Beijing, China)
Most Improved- Rahmes Hall (Fort Belvoir, VA)

James Hensley Award- Timothy Betoni (Falls Church, VA)
Leadership Award- Colby Salyer (Bristol, VA)
Coaches’ Award- Kyle Churchwell (Herndon, VA)
Most Improved- Derek Prestes (Glen Allen, VA)

Most Valuable Swimmer- Gavin Flanagan (Centreville, VA)
Coaches’ Award- William Malbon (Waban, MA)
Caissons Hustle Award- Ryan Curran (Carthage, NC)
Leadership Award- Thomas Jones (South Fulton, TN)
Most Improved- Thomas Jones
Iron Caisson- Qijun Yao (Le Havre, France)

Most Valuable Wrestler- Matthew Farrar (Waynesboro, VA)
Caissons Hustle Award- Austin Lee (McLean, VA)
Leadership Award- Jacob Fincham (Fredericksburg, VA)
Most Improved- Adam Bowles (Sewickley, PA)

Special Wrestling Plaques
Silvio Dionisotti (Sudbury, MA)
2018 VISAA 3rd, 2018 VIC Runner-up, 2018 Prep National Qualifier, Amherst Classic Champion, Max Horn Classic Champion, TAHS Inv. Champion, Ed Cressel Classic Champion

Matthew Farrar (Waynesboro, VA)
2018 VISAA Champion, 2017 VISAA 3rd, 2016 VISAA 5th, 3x VIC Champion,
2x National Prep Qualifier, 2018 VIC Wrestler of the Year, 2018 VISAA Lightweight Wrestler of the Year, Amherst Classic Champion, Max Horn Classic Champion, Career Record 170-39

Levi Smith (Fayetteville, NC)
2018 VISAA 4th, 2018 VIC Champion, 2018 Prep National Qualifier

James G. Hogg Award– Matthew Farrar (Waynesboro, VA)

Fishburne Military School is the oldest and smallest of all military schools for boys in Virginia. Its college-prep curriculum is built upon the structure of an Army JROTC program. FMS is designated as a JROTC Honor Unit with Distinction and may nominate qualified candidates to the United States Service Academies. Fishburne hosts one of only four Summer JROTC programs in the nation, accredited by US Army Cadet Command.